Thursday, August 22, 2013

The time it was about city-states

I bought Defiance pretty much right when it came out, but didn't get to it right away.  When I finally found it in my TBR stack and read it, I devoured it and mentally slapped myself for not getting to it sooner.  So, of course, when Deception arcs started going out, I was dying to get my hands on one. My lovely friend, Jaime, happened to get an extra one and gave it to me. 

And gah. It didn't disappoint.  I begged asked C.J. for an interview and she was lovely enough to say yes.  But, before we get to her answers, let's check out the book!

Baalboden has been ravaged. The brutal Commander's whereabouts are unknown. And Rachel, grief stricken over her father's death, needs Logan more than ever. With their ragged group of survivors struggling to forge a future, it's up to Logan to become the leader they need—with Rachel by his side. Under constant threat from rival Carrington's army, who is after the device that controls the Cursed One, the group decides to abandon the ruins of their home and take their chances in the Wasteland.



But soon their problems intensify tenfold: someone—possibly inside their ranks—is sabotaging the survivors, picking them off one by one. The chaos and uncertainty of each day puts unbearable strain on Rachel and Logan, and it isn't long before they feel their love splintering. Even worse, as it becomes clear that the Commander will stop at nothing to destroy them, the band of survivors begins to question whether the price of freedom may be too great—and whether, hunted by their enemies and the murderous traitor in their midst, they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.

In this daring sequel to Defiance, with the world they once loved forever destroyed, Rachel and Logan must decide between a life on the run and standing their ground to fight.

Sounds good, right?


1. Where did the idea for Defiance come from?

I'd had the idea of a Leviathon-like creature who lived deep below the earth's surface in my head for years.  One day, I saw a picture of a fortress that reminded me of an old fashioned city-state. I thought, "Wouldn't it be interesting if we lived in city-states again?" and then I thought, "Why would we do that?" And the two ideas collided and became Defiance.

2. You wrote two POVs [yay!]. Who was easier to work with: Logan or Rachel?

Rachel! Logan likes math and science and is excruciatingly logical. I am none of those things. I can't tell you how many times I had to stop drafting and do an hour's worth of research just to write two little sentences from his POV because I couldn't understand his mind without significant help.

3. Tell me about the Cursed Ones. How did they develop as part of the story?

As I mentioned in question 1, they were part of the story from the very start. They're the reason for the city-states, and are a continued threat (especially as it looks like someone has found a way to weaponize them).

4. Will there be kissing in Deception?

Yes!! Much more than in Defiance.

5. Describe Deception in 5 words.

Dark
Suspenseful
Vivid
Emotional
Action-packed

Speed [ish] round:

1. What is your go-to guilty pleasure thing to eat?

Hot Tamales!

2. What are you reading right now?

I just finished Indelible by Dawn Metcalf. (Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Melissa Marr)

3. Who are your favorite swoony boys?

Book boys? Or Benedict Cumberbatch? ;D

4. Are there any authors that you fangirl over?

Oh yes! Too many to name. I have a lot of faves.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Huge thanks to C.J. for taking the time!  Make sure you check out her blog, Twitter, Tumblr and Pintrest pages.  And definitely add her books to GoodReads!

Now. 

Haven't had a chance to read C.J.'s books yet?  That's where I come in.  I've got a paperback copy of Defiance and a hardcover copy of Deception up for grabs. Books will be coming from The Book Depository.  The contest is international, as long as TBD ships to you for free.

Additional rules for the giveaway are on the "terms and conditions" on the Rafflecopter widget.

**Good Luck!!**
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

28 comments:

  1. Flight just to gain a headstart, then fight.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I would probably flight if i'm alone and afraid

    thank you A LOT for this giveaway, i have this series on my wislist and really want to discover it so winning them is a fabulous opportunity even better it's open to international sonow i can only cross my fingers and hope^^

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'd probably flight until I had a plan and army and then maybe later, fight. Thanks! Excited to read this next book in the series!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't read the books yet, so I can't really answer the question. I've been dying to read the books, but haven't been able to get my hands on them. *Sigh* Though from what I've heard, I'd probably choose flight!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Flight. I'd probably go flailing like a chicken because I'm that scared lol! Not much of a fighter unfortunately. Thanks for the giveaway!!! I've been dying to read these books :0)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I would fight :D (Ileana A.-rafflecopter)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I sadly haven't read the books yet:/ sadly couldn't get a copy:)
    but probably fight!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh gosh, I would probably run for high heavens. I could so not take that thing...

    Brynna

    ReplyDelete
  9. FLIGHT!! This beeatch don't fight!!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway...fingers are crossed very tightly! I've been wanting to start the series since before book 1 came out, and here it is time for book 2 already. Sheesh! Well, I TOLD you I was slow... ;)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Fight! Fight! Fight!
    Unless I was in the middle of a book!

    ;)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I would probably fight depending on my mood.. Thanks for the giveaway!!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I would like to say fight but I would probably flight!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Fight! But I would probably end up with flight if its too much with scary stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Uhm, that depends. There'd probably be nowhere to run. If I had a weapon, then I'd totally fight. Otherwise, I'd back away slowly...

    ReplyDelete
  15. I would have loved to say that I would fight but knowing myself I would flight =/ ! Thanks for the giveaway (:

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'd like to say I'd fight, but in all honesty I'd probably flee if there was anywhere to hide. If I was stuck in the open, I would fight back with all I had, though. I'm not going down without a fight!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I haven't read the series, but I'm going to say flight, because, you know, I'm a BIG chicken!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Benedict Cumberbatch? I like that answer! I have a copy of Defiance and I was waiting for the second book so I can read them together! :D

    To answer the question, I would probably flight. I'm no good at fighting. >.>

    ReplyDelete
  19. Against a Cursed one? FLIIIIIIIIIIIIIGHT!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I would fight and I would win!!! Because I'm just awesome like that! My plan would be send my brother out as bait and attack from behind!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I would run. xD I would probably die if I tried fighting.

    ReplyDelete

 

©2011-2014 All Rights Reserved | Website Designed by Website Design Credit

Powered by Blogger